School Advisory Council

As an Edmund Rice Education Australia (EREA) school, the St Patrick’s School Advisory Council has as its Mission to provide a Catholic Education in the Edmund Rice tradition within the wider Catholic Church.

Further, within the ministry of Governance, EREA School Boards embrace this Mission through fidelity to the Charter and the cultural characteristics of Catholic Schools in the Edmund Rice Tradition. The EREA Governance Framework articulates the roles, delegations, authorities and responsibilities of EREA Council, EREA Board, EREA Executive, EREA Principals and EREA School Advisory Councils.

The School Advisory Council works in partnership with the Principal in order to undertake a range of delegated responsibilities aimed at providing optimum learning outcomes for all students attending the College.

The 2021 school advisory council are:
  • Mr Adam Carter (BAdvisory Council Chair)
  • Mr Zane Barron
  • Mr Greg Bolton
  • Dr Kerry Manton
  • Ex-Officio Member: Mr Chris Mayes (College Principal)
  • Guest Member: Mr Frank Torrisi (College Deputy Principal)
  • Guest Member: Mr Liam Casey (College Business Manager)

College Board Report 2020

This has been a difficult year for the entire St Patrick’s College community due to the impact of COVID19.  

I would like to recognise the great work of the College Leadership Team, staff, and student leaders in a year of constant interruption, change and uncertainty. The support and communication during this time was very comforting and appreciated by the students and their families. The College Board also recognizes the added stresses on families with insecure employment, working from home and supporting their own children also doing their schooling from home for some time. 

The Board is also cognizant of the affects such a year can have on the mental health of both students and staff. We have been comforted by the actions and efforts of the College staff in supporting each other and the students and families of the College. We would also like to commend the staff for their extraordinary efforts in preparing the SPC@Home platform in such a short space of time and also for the constant care and support that was offered to the students during their time of absence from school. 

This is the second year of the College Strategic Plan (2019-2023). During this year there has been significant focus on the master planning and finance committees.  The members of these committees have given great support and expertise to the College Leadership Team to ensure a strong future for the College through improved use and building of resources, completion of the College Business Plan and Master Plan, and governance and compliance reporting. 

The St Patricks College Masterplan (2019 – 2030) was also completed this year. It features some wonderful considerations for sustainability, increased green space, and the improvement and optimization of current spaces and facilities. This plan will bring a sense of hope and excitement to the community over several years and stages. 

I would like to also thank all those who give up their time to serve on the various College Board sub-committees as well as the Board of the College Foundation. Your expertise and commitment to the College is what brings such great value to this community. 

The growth of the College this year has demonstrated that St Patrick’s continues to be a school of choice on the Northside of Brisbane. We continue to balance the affordability for families and the continuing need to provide quality education opportunities for students. 

I would like to thank my fellow board members and sub Committees for volunteering their time and expertise to the College. I would like to thank my fellow board members Br. Denis Sullivan, Mr Greg Bolton, Dr Kerry Manton and Mr Zane Barron. I would also like to thank Mr Lachlan Moore for his contribution to the College and Master planning Committee. Unfortunately, Lachlan stepped down from the Board as he moved interstate. The Board have brought with them a vast experience in compliance, management, education, and construction. 

On half of the Board, I would like to thank Br Denis Sullivan for all his contributions to the St Patrick’s Board and Community. He has been a pillar of strength. He is, unfortunately stepping down from the Board after his many years of service. We wish him all the best for his contribution and support. 

I would like to thank the senior student cohort and their families for their commitment and efforts during a challenging year and wish you all the best as you take on the world.  

Finally, I would like to thank our College Leadership Team and the College staff and volunteers for their support and commitment to the young men and their families throughout this year. 

Let us all pray that 2021 will allow us the opportunity to learn from the experiences of this year and use these to reset and reimagine for the future.  

Certa Bonum Certamen – Fight the Good Fight  

Adam Carter 
Board Chair 
St Patrick's College